Language Selection

Search

SDG 12: Responsible consumption and production

On this page

The environmental perspective

This chapter's focus on reducing waste and transitioning to zero-emission vehicles directly supports SDG Global Indicator Framework Target 12.5: By 2030, substantially reduce waste generation through prevention, reduction, recycling and reuse.

The Canadian economy relies on nature and the resources it provides. However, nature is under threat due to unsustainable patterns of production and consumption where a throwaway culture is the norm. In a 2021 study published by the Council of Canadian Academies, a first circularity rate for Canada is estimated at 6.1%. This value can be compared to those reported by Eurostat for the EU countries, where in the EU-27, the circularity rate is 14.4%.

Impacts of increasing rates of resource consumption can be significant, potentially leading to negative impacts on the environment, resource shortages, rising or volatile prices, and supply chain interruptions. Transitioning to a cleaner economy means finding smart new approaches and technologies that design waste out of our consumption systems—both biological and technical—and create economic opportunities out of the materials that citizens and organizations might otherwise throw away.

Shifting toward a more sustainable circular economy can reduce pressures on the planet, helping to address climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution while also creating new economic opportunities. It means addressing key waste management challenges of today, including growing waste volumes, plastic pollution, food and agricultural waste, climate change, and biodiversity loss.

The circular economy is founded on 3 principles: design pollution and waste out of the economy, keep products and materials in use (through sharing, reuse, repair, refurbishment, remanufacturing, and recycling), and work with nature to regenerate and enhance ecosystems. Using these principles, we can sustainably manage our economy for the benefit of current and future generations.

The private and public sectors, civil society, citizens and consumers are advancing the circular economy in Canada. Many of these efforts have focused on addressing plastic waste and pollution given that globally roughly 8 million tonnes of plastic enter oceans each year from land, causing an estimated USD $13 billion in damages annually to marine ecosystems. In addition, plastic production is a significant source of greenhouse gas emissions, and increased plastic production could negatively affect countries' ability to meet their Paris Agreement targets. For these reasons, plastic pollution and waste has emerged as a top global environmental priority, creating increasing momentum for a circular plastics economy.

In the agricultural sector, circular strategies focus on increasing the resource and energy efficiency of food systems (for example, precision agriculture), finding productive uses for food loss and waste (such as animal feed, up-cycled food products, composting and waste to resource), and investing in restoring ecosystems and biodiversity (for example, regenerative agriculture).

An important result of inefficiency in food systems, food loss and waste, is a global problem of enormous economic, environmental, and societal significance. A 2020 study found that food loss and waste made up about 23% of the waste landfilled in Canada in 2016. Food loss and waste disposed in landfills produces methane, a short-lived but powerful greenhouse gas many times more potent than carbon dioxide. Emissions from Canadian landfills account for 23% of national methane emissions, and represent nearly 3.7% of Canada's total greenhouse gas emission inventory.

Transportation accounts for a quarter of Canada's greenhouse gas emissions, of which almost half comes from passenger cars and light trucks. One way to reduce the amount of transportation-related greenhouse gas emissions is to replace vehicles powered by fossil fuels (internal combustion engines, or ICEs), with zero-emission vehicles. In doing so, it will be important to ensure that the life-cycle carbon footprint associated with producing, powering and recycling zero-emission vehicles (and their component parts, such as lithium-ion batteries) is lower than that of ICE vehicles. Investing in public transportation, walkable communities, and car-sharing can also reduce emissions and support sustainable cities and communities.

Where the Government of Canada is going

Mandate letters released in December 2021 outline the Government of Canada's direction and policy priorities. Selected commitments related to Sustainable Development Goal 12 are listed below.

  • Create a No-Waste Food Fund to help all players along the food supply chain to commercialize and adopt ways to eliminate, reduce or repurpose food waste (Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food).
  • Implement a 'right to repair' to extend the life of home appliances, particularly electronics, by requiring manufacturers to supply repair manuals and spare parts, and by amending the Copyright Act to allow for the repair of digital devices and systems (Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry; Minister of Environment and Climate Change).
  • Strengthen federal procurement practices to prioritize reusable and recyclable products in support of our goal of zero plastic waste and to support procurement of Canadian clean technology (Minister of Public Services and Procurement; Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry).
  • Develop a regulated sales mandate that at least 50% of all new light duty vehicle sales be zero emissions vehicles in 2030 as an interim step toward achieving Canada's mandatory target of 100% by 2035, a regulated sales requirement that 100% of medium- and heavy-duty vehicles sales be zero emission by 2040, where feasible, as well as a strategy to decarbonize emission-intensive on-road freight (Minister of Environment and Climate Change; Minister of Transport).
  • To achieve Zero Plastic Waste by 2030:
    • Continue to implement the national ban on harmful single-use plastics (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Accelerate the implementation of the zero plastic waste action plan, in partnership with provinces and territories (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Ensure that producers, not taxpayers, are responsible for the cost of managing their plastic waste (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Implement and enforce an ambitious recycling target of 90%—aligned with Quebec and the European Union—for plastic beverage containers (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Introduce labelling rules that prohibit the use of the chasing-arrows symbol unless 80% of Canada's recycling facilities accept, and have reliable end markets for, these products (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Support provincial and territorial producer responsibility efforts by establishing a federal public registry and requiring producers to report annually on plastics in the Canadian economy (Minister of Environment and Climate Change);
    • Create a new infrastructure and innovation fund that will scale-up and commercialize made-in-Canada technologies and solutions for the reuse and recycling of plastics (Minister of Environment and Climate Change; Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry)

How the Government of Canada contributes

The Government of Canada is committed to advancing sustainable consumption and production through initiatives that reduce waste, promote sustainable management and efficient use of natural resources, and achieve sound management of chemicals and waste.

Canada continues to be recognized as an international leader on combatting plastic pollution, stemming both from its 2018 Group of 7 (G7) Presidency, and ongoing championing of the Ocean Plastics Charter. The charter, now endorsed by almost 30 governments and more than 70 businesses and organizations, takes a comprehensive lifecycle approach to preventing marine plastic pollution. It lays the groundwork to ensure that plastics are designed for longer product life and increased recovery, such as through reuse and recycling. This protects the environment and keeps a valuable resource in the economy.

In support of the charter, Canada has invested $100 million to support developing countries in their efforts to reduce plastic pollution. This includes advancing gender equity elements in plastic pollution through the World Bank ProBlue Fund and supporting the development of national plastic action plans in Indonesia, Ghana, Vietnam and Nigeria via the Global Plastic Action Partnership.

Canada also works through multilateral fora such as the G7, Group of 20 (G20), Arctic Council, Commission for Environmental Cooperation and the United Nations, as well as bilaterally with key partners, to strengthen policy, advance research and exchange information and best practices. Canada recently played a critical leadership role during the resumed fifth session of the UN Environment Assembly supporting the process that launched negotiations towards the establishment of a new legally-binding global agreement on plastics, and will advocate for ambitious action going forward.

The Government of Canada is working with provinces and territories through the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment to implement the Canada-wide Strategy and Action Plans on Zero Plastic Waste. This work takes a life-cycle approach to addressing plastic waste and pollution. The government has adopted a comprehensive approach to meeting the target of zero plastic waste by 2030. Key actions include investing in research through Canada's Plastics Science Agenda, promoting innovation through the Canadian Plastics Innovation Challenges, and supporting sector-based solutions and community action through the Zero Plastic Waste Initiative. The government has also committed to ban select harmful single-use plastic items where there is evidence that they are found in the environment, are often not recycled, and have readily available alternatives. Finally, the government works in partnership with organizations and industries to develop solutions to reduce waste and increase the recovery of plastic waste in Canada.

These efforts build on previous initiatives of the resource efficiency and circular economy working groups under the G7 and G20, of which Canada is an active member. This includes the G7 Resource Efficiency Alliance, an international platform created in 2015 with the objective of sharing best practices on resource efficiency, circular economy, sustainable material management, and the 3Rs (reduce, reuse, and recycle). To date, discussions at the Alliance have resulted in a number of guiding documents, including the Toyama Framework on Material Cycles (2016), and the 5-year Bologna Roadmap on Resource Efficiency (2017).

Canada is party to several legally binding international agreements that prevent waste and litter, control the transboundary movements of hazardous and other wastes, and ensure that such wastes are disposed of in an environmentally sound way. These include the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, the London Convention and Protocol to prevent marine pollution from dumping at sea, and the Madrid Protocol to the Antarctic treaty to protect the Antarctic environment. Sustainable consumption and production is recognized by the UN Convention on Biological Diversity as a key element of safeguarding nature.

In September 2021, Canada hosted the World Circular Economy Forum 2021 (WCEF2021), with the Finnish Innovation Fund, Sitra, to focus on the key actions and systemic changes needed to create the conditions for a thriving global circular economy. Canada is part of the Leadership Group of the Platform for Accelerating the Circular Economy, and in early 2021 joined the Global Alliance on the Circular Economy and Resource Efficiency.

The federal government is also exploring how to apply circular economy approaches in areas such as green procurement, food waste, value-retention processes, and forestry and mining, including through:

  • the Value-retention Processes Strategy to encourage the remanufacturing, refurbishment, repair and reuse of products to increase the reuse of materials and reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Canada
  • the Canadian Minerals and Metals Plan, which envisions a circular economy where mine waste is reprocessed to improve sustainability and derive additional economic value

The Food Policy for Canada, launched in 2019, includes Reduce Food Waste as one of 4 near-term action areas, supported by a $26.3 million investment from 2019 to 2024, (including $20 million for the Food Waste Reduction Challenge) to stimulate innovative solutions and demonstrate federal leadership on food loss and waste. The Food Waste Reduction Challenge seeks to find innovative solutions to reducing food loss and waste, thereby increasing food availability, saving consumers and businesses money, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and strengthening our food systems.

The federal government is committed to decarbonizing Canada's transportation sector and becoming a global leader in zero-emission vehicles. At the COP26 climate summit in 2021, Canada signed the Global Memorandum of Understanding for Zero-Emission Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles, committing parties to working toward 100% zero-emission new truck and bus sales by 2040 and 30% by 2030. Canada signed the COP26 declaration on accelerating the transition to 100% zero emission cars and vans, which brings together national governments, states, regions, cities, vehicle manufacturers, businesses, investors and civil society all committed to working towards 100% zero-emission car and van sales by 2035 in leading markets, and no later than 2040 globally. The Government of Canada is steadfast in its conviction that the electrification of Canada's light-duty vehicles and a shift to cleaner fuels are key to decarbonizing our transportation sector.

Northern and remote waste management

Communities in northern and remote regions face unique challenges in managing their municipal solid waste due to climate, geology, population size and distribution, socioeconomic factors, and access to services and facilities. As a result of these challenges, some existing waste management practices do not sufficiently protect human health and the environment. While the principles of environmentally sound waste management are well-documented, best practices need to be adapted to the distinct circumstances of northern and remote communities. This includes engaging the community to raise awareness on the importance of proper waste management and planning, and prioritizing infrastructure improvements, operational activities, and major waste types to reduce risks to human health and the environment, among other best practices.

Search the strategy to find out about its goals, targets, milestones, and action plans

Use the interactive tool

Download the strategy

2022-2026 FSDS

Draft Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2022-2026

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

ODD 12 : Consommation et production responsables

Sur cette page

Le point de vue environnemental

L'accent mis dans ce chapitre sur la réduction des déchets et la transition vers les véhicules zéro émission soutient directement la cible 12.5 du Cadre mondial d'indicateurs relatifs aux ODD : D'ici 2030, réduire nettement la production de déchets par la prévention, la réduction, le recyclage et la réutilisation.

L'économie canadienne repose sur la nature et les ressources qu'elle fournit. Cependant, la nature est menacée par des modes de production et de consommation non durables où la culture du jetable est la norme. Dans une étude de 2021 publiée par le Conseil des académies canadiennes, un premier taux d'utilisation circulaire ou taux de circularité pour le Canada est estimé à 6,1%. Cette valeur peut être comparée à celles rapportées par Eurostat pour les pays de l'UE, où dans l'UE-27, le taux de circularité est de 14,4%.

L'augmentation de la consommation des ressources peut avoir des répercussions importantes et entraîner éventuellement des effets nocifs sur l'environnement, des pénuries de ressources, une hausse ou une volatilité des prix et des interruptions de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. La transition vers une économie plus propre implique de trouver de nouvelles approches et technologies intelligentes qui éliminent les déchets de nos modes de consommation - tant biologiques que techniques - et crée des débouchés économiques à partir des matériaux que les citoyens et les organisations auraient autrement jetés.

Le passage à une économie circulaire plus durable peut réduire la pression exercée sur la planète, en contribuant à lutter contre le changement climatique, la perte de biodiversité et la pollution, tout en créant de nouvelles possibilités économiques. Il s'agit de relever les principaux défis actuels en matière de gestion des déchets, notamment l'augmentation du volume de déchets, la pollution plastique, les déchets alimentaires et agricoles, les changements climatiques et la perte de biodiversité.

L'économie circulaire repose sur 3 principes : éliminer la pollution et les déchets de l'économie, prolonger l'utilisation des produits et des matériaux (par le partage, la réutilisation, la réparation, la remise à neuf, le réusinage et le recyclage) et travailler avec la nature pour régénérer et améliorer les écosystèmes. Grâce à ces principes, nous pouvons gérer notre économie de façon durable au profit des générations actuelles et futures.

Les secteurs privé et public, la société civile, les citoyens et les consommateurs font progresser l'économie circulaire au Canada. Bon nombre de ces efforts ont porté sur la lutte contre les déchets plastiques et la pollution (en anglais seulement), étant donné qu'à l'échelle mondiale, environ 8 millions de tonnes de plastique terrestre aboutissent dans les océans chaque année, causant des dommages estimés à 13 milliards de dollars américains (en anglais seulement) par an aux écosystèmes marins. En outre, la production de plastique (en anglais seulement) est une source importante d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre, et l'augmentation de la production de plastique pourrait nuire à la capacité des pays à atteindre les cibles de l'Accord de Paris. Pour ces raisons, la pollution et les déchets plastiques sont devenus une priorité environnementale mondiale de premier ordre, ce qui a donné un élan au développement d'une économie circulaire des plastiques.

Dans le secteur agricole, les stratégies circulaires se concentrent sur l'efficacité accrue de l'utilisation des ressources et de l'énergie des systèmes alimentaires (par exemple, l'agriculture de précision), la recherche d'utilisations productives pour éviter les pertes et les déchets d'aliments (comme la nourriture pour animaux, les produits alimentaires recyclés, le compostage et la transformation des déchets en ressources), et l'investissement dans la remise en état des écosystèmes et le rétablissement de la biodiversité (par exemple, l'agriculture régénérative).

L'inefficacité des systèmes alimentaires, la perte et le gaspillage de nourriture sont un problème mondial d'une énorme importance sur les plans économique, environnemental et sociétal. Selon une étude de 2020, les pertes et les déchets alimentaires représentaient environ 23 % des déchets mis en décharge au Canada en 2016. Les pertes et déchets alimentaires éliminés dans les décharges produisent du méthane, un gaz à effet de serre à courte durée de vie mais néanmoins puissant, soit plusieurs fois plus puissant que le dioxyde de carbone. Les émissions des décharges canadiennes représentent 23 % des émissions nationales de méthane, et près de 3,7 % de l'inventaire total des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du Canada.

Le transport est responsable du quart des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada, dont près de la moitié provient des automobiles et des camions légers. Une façon de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre occasionnées par le transport est de remplacer les véhicules alimentés par des combustibles fossiles (moteurs à combustion interne ou MCI) par des véhicules zéro émission. Ce faisant, il sera important de veiller à ce que l'empreinte carbone du cycle de vie associée à la production, à l'alimentation et au recyclage des véhicules zéro émission (et de leurs composants, tels que les batteries au lithium-ion) soit inférieure à celle des véhicules à MCI. Investir dans les transports publics, les communautés piétonnes et le covoiturage peut également réduire les émissions et soutenir les villes et communautés durables.

Direction que le gouvernement du Canada entend prendre

Les lettres de mandat publiées en décembre 2021 décrivent l'orientation et les priorités politiques du gouvernement du Canada. Certains engagements liés à l'objectif de développement durable 12 sont énumérés ci-dessous.

  • Créer un Fonds alimentaire sans déchets pour aider tous les acteurs de la chaîne d'approvisionnement alimentaire à commercialiser et à adopter des moyens pour éliminer, réduire ou réutiliser les déchets alimentaires (ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire).
  • Mettre en place un « droit à la réparation » pour prolonger la durée de vie des appareils ménagers, et plus particulièrement des appareils électroniques, en obligeant les fabricants à fournir des manuels et des pièces de rechange, et en modifiant la Loi sur le droit d'auteur pour permettre la réparation des appareils et des systèmes numériques (ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie; ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique).
  • Renforcer les pratiques d'approvisionnement fédérales afin de prioriser les produits réutilisables et recyclables de façon à atteindre notre objectif de zéro déchet plastique, et soutenir l'approvisionnement en technologies propres canadiennes (ministre des Services publics et de l'Approvisionnement; ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie).
  • Élaborer une exigence de vente réglementée au titre de laquelle au moins 50 % de toutes les nouvelles ventes de véhicules légers seront des véhicules zéro émission en 2030, comme étape provisoire vers l'atteinte de l'objectif obligatoire du Canada de 100 % d'ici 2035, et une exigence, dans la mesure du possible, que 100 % des ventes de véhicules de poids moyen et lourd soient des véhicules zéro émission d'ici 2040. Élaborer une stratégie pour décarboniser le transport routier des marchandises qui produit des émissions élevées (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique; ministre des Transports).
  • Pour atteindre l'objectif de zéro déchet plastique d'ici 2030:
    • Continuer à mettre en œuvre l'interdiction nationale d'articles en plastique à usage unique;
    • Accélérer la mise en œuvre du plan d'action Zéro déchet plastique, en partenariat avec les provinces et les territoires (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique);
    • Faire en sorte que les producteurs, et non les contribuables, soient responsables du coût de la gestion de leurs déchets plastiques (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique);
    • Mettre en œuvre et faire respecter un objectif ambitieux de recyclage pour les bouteilles de plastique de 90 %, objectif qui concorde avec celui du Québec et de l'Union européenne;
    • Adopter des règles d'étiquetage qui interdisent l'utilisation du symbole des flèches courbes, à moins que 80 % des installations de recyclage du Canada l'acceptent et aient des marchés finaux fiables pour ces produits (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique);
    • Appuyer les efforts provinciaux et territoriaux en matière de responsabilité des producteurs en établissant un registre public fédéral et exiger que les producteurs présentent des rapports annuels sur les plastiques dans l'économie canadienne (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique);
    • Créer un nouveau fonds d'infrastructure et d'innovation qui permettra l'expansion et la commercialisation de technologies et de solutions fabriquées au Canada pour la réutilisation et le recyclage de plastiques (ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique; ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie).

Contribution du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à promouvoir la consommation et la production durables par des initiatives visant à réduire les déchets, à favoriser la gestion durable et l'utilisation efficace des ressources naturelles, et à assurer une gestion saine des produits chimiques et des déchets.

Le Canada continue d'être reconnu comme un chef de file mondial dans la lutte contre la pollution plastique, grâce à sa présidence du Groupe des 7 (G7) en 2018 et à la promotion continue de la Charte sur les plastiques dans les océans. La charte, qui a maintenant été approuvée par près de 30 gouvernements et plus de 70 entreprises et organisations, prévoit une approche globale du cycle de vie pour prévenir la pollution marine par le plastique. Elle jette les bases d'une conception des plastiques dans laquelle les produits ont une durée de vie plus longue et où leur récupération est plus grande, notamment par la réutilisation et le recyclage. Cela permet de protéger l'environnement et de conserver une ressource précieuse dans l'économie.

À l'appui de la charte, le Canada a investi 100 millions de dollars pour soutenir les pays en développement dans leurs efforts pour réduire la pollution plastique. Il s'agit notamment de faire progresser l'équité des sexes dans les programmes de lutte contre la pollution plastique grâce au Fonds ProBlue de la Banque mondiale et de faciliter l'élaboration d'un plan d'action national sur le plastique en Indonésie, au Ghana, au Vietnam et au Nigeria par l'entremise du Partenariat mondial d'action sur la réduction du plastique.

Le Canada travaille également dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux tels que le G7, le Groupe des 20 (G20), le Conseil de l'Arctique, la Commission de coopération environnementale et les Nations Unies, ainsi que de façon bilatérale avec des partenaires clés pour renforcer les politiques, faire progresser la recherche et échanger des informations et des pratiques exemplaires. Le Canada a récemment joué un rôle de premier plan lors de la reprise de la cinquième session de l'Assemblée des Nations Unies pour l'environnement en facilitant le processus qui a lancé les négociations en vue de l'établissement d'un nouvel accord mondial exécutoire sur les plastiques, et il plaidera en faveur d'une action ambitieuse pour l'avenir.

En siégeant au Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement, le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec les provinces et les territoires pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie et les plans d'action pancanadiens sur l'atteinte de zéro déchet de plastique. Dans son travail, il adopte une approche fondée sur le cycle de vie pour s'attaquer aux déchets plastiques et à la pollution. Il a privilégié une approche globale pour atteindre la cible de zéro déchet de plastique d'ici 2030. Les principales mesures comprennent l'investissement dans la recherche en finançant le Programme scientifique canadien sur les plastiques, la promotion de l'innovation en soutenant le Défi canadien d'innovation sur les plastiques, et le soutien des solutions sectorielles et de l'action communautaire en appuyant l'initiative Zéro déchet de plastique. Il s'est également engagé à interdire certains articles dangereux en plastique à usage unique lorsqu'il est prouvé qu'ils sont présents dans l'environnement, qu'ils ne sont souvent pas recyclés et qu'il existe des solutions de rechange faciles à utiliser. Enfin, il travaille en partenariat avec des organisations et des industries pour élaborer des solutions visant à réduire les déchets et à accroître la récupération des déchets de plastique au Canada.

Ces efforts reposent sur les initiatives antérieures des groupes de travail sur l'efficacité de l'utilisation des ressources et l'économie circulaire sous l'égide du G7 et du G20, dont le Canada est un membre actif. Parmi ces initiatives, citons l'Alliance du G7 sur l'efficacité de l'utilisation des ressources (en anglais seulement), une plateforme internationale créée en 2015 dans le but de partager les pratiques exemplaires en matière d'efficacité d'utilisation des ressources, d'économie circulaire, de gestion durable des matières et des 3R (réduire, réutiliser et recycler). À ce jour, les discussions au sein de l'Alliance ont abouti à un certain nombre de documents d'orientation, notamment le cadre de travail sur les cycles des matériaux de Toyama (2016) (en anglais seulement) et la feuille de route quinquennale de Bologne sur l'efficacité de l'utilisation des ressources (2017) (en anglais seulement).

Le Canada est signataire de plusieurs accords internationaux exécutoires qui visent à prévenir la production de déchets et de détritus, à contrôler le transport transfrontalier de déchets dangereux et autres, et à veiller à ce que ces déchets soient éliminés de manière écologiquement rationnelle. Il s'agit notamment de la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination (en anglais seulement), de la Convention internationale pour la prévention de la pollution par les navires, de la Convention et Protocole de Londres visant à prévenir la pollution marine due aux rejets en mer, et du Protocole de Madrid au Traité sur l'Antarctique visant à protéger l'environnement de l'Antarctique. La consommation et la production durables sont reconnues par la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique comme un élément clé de la protection de la nature.

En septembre 2021, le Canada a organisé le Forum mondial de l'économie circulaire 2021 (WCEF2021) conjointement avec le Fonds d'innovation finlandais Sitra, pour que les actions clés et les changements systémiques nécessaires pour créer les conditions d'une économie circulaire mondiale florissante soient au centre des préoccupations. Le Canada fait partie du groupe de hauts dirigeants de la Plateforme pour l'accélération de l'économie circulaire (en anglais seulement) et, au début de 2021, il a rejoint l'Alliance mondiale pour l'économie circulaire et une utilisation efficace des ressources (en anglais seulement).

Le gouvernement fédéral étudie également la manière d'appliquer les approches de l'économie circulaire dans des domaines tels que l'approvisionnement écologique, le gaspillage alimentaire, les processus de conservation de la valeur, ainsi que la foresterie et l'exploitation minière, notamment grâce aux programmes suivants :

La Politique alimentaire pour le Canada, lancée en 2019, comprend Réduire le gaspillage alimentaire comme l'un des 4 domaines d'action à court terme, et est financée par un investissement de 26,3 millions de dollars de 2019 à 2024 (dont 20 millions de dollars pour le Défi de réduction du gaspillage alimentaire), pour stimuler des solutions innovantes et démontrer le leadership fédéral en matière de pertes et de gaspillage alimentaires. Le Défi de réduction du gaspillage alimentaire vise à trouver des solutions innovantes pour réduire les pertes et le gaspillage de nourriture, ce qui permet d'augmenter la disponibilité des aliments, de faire en sorte que les consommateurs et les entreprises fassent des économies, de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et de renforcer nos systèmes alimentaires.

Le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé à décarboniser le secteur des transports du Canada et à devenir un chef de file mondial en matière de véhicules zéro émission. Lors du sommet COP26 en 2021, le Canada a signé le Protocole d'entente mondial sur les véhicules moyens et lourds à zéro émission, qui prévoit que les parties travaillent à ce que 100 % des ventes de nouveaux camions et autobus soient à zéro émission d'ici 2040 et à ce que 30 % des ventes le soient d'ici 2030. Le Canada a signé la déclaration de la COP26 sur l'accélération de la transition vers 100 % de voitures et de fourgonnettes à zéro émission, à laquelle adhèrent des gouvernements nationaux, des États, des régions, des villes, des fabricants de véhicules, des entreprises, des investisseurs et la société civile, tous engagés à travailler pour que les véhicules zéro émission représentent 100 % des ventes de voitures et de fourgonnettes d'ici 2035 sur les principaux marchés, et au plus tard en 2040 à l'échelle mondiale. Le gouvernement du Canada est fermement convaincu que l'électrification des véhicules légers du Canada et le passage à des carburants plus propres sont essentiels à la décarbonisation de notre secteur des transports.

Gestion des déchets dans les régions nordiques et éloignées

Les collectivités des régions nordiques et éloignées sont confrontées à des difficultés uniques dans la gestion de leurs déchets solides municipaux en raison du climat, de la géologie, de la taille et de la répartition de la population, des facteurs socio-économiques et de l'accès aux services et aux installations. En raison de ces difficultés, certaines pratiques actuelles de gestion des déchets ne protègent pas suffisamment la santé humaine et l'environnement. Les principes de la gestion écologique des déchets soient bien documentés, mais les pratiques exemplaires doivent être adaptées aux circonstances particulières des collectivités nordiques et éloignées. Il s'agit notamment de faire participer la collectivité pour la sensibiliser à l'importance d'une gestion et d'une planification adéquates des déchets, et de prioriser les améliorations de l'infrastructure, les activités opérationnelles et les principaux types de déchets afin de réduire les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement, entre autres pratiques exemplaires.

Effectuez une recherche sur la stratégie pour connaître ses objectifs, ses cibles, ses jalons et ses plans d’action

Utilisez l'outil interactif

Télécharger la stratégie

SFDD 2022 à 2026

Version provisoire de la stratégie fédérale de dêveloppement durable 2022 à 2026