Language Selection

Search

Hearing from Canadians

On this page

Public consultation and the Federal Sustainable Development Act

This draft strategy is only the first step toward establishing the Government of Canada’s environmental sustainability plan for the next 4 years. We need your suggestions, thoughts and priorities as we develop the final version.

Each new Federal Sustainable Development Strategy is released for a public consultation period of at least 120 days before it is tabled in Parliament. Public consultation is an important part of developing the strategy, helping to ensure that its targets, milestones and actions reflect the priorities of Canadians.

Under the Act, during the public consultation period the draft strategy must be provided for review and comment by:

  • the House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development
  • the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources
  • the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development
  • the Sustainable Development Advisory Council, which includes members from each province and territory, Indigenous peoples, environmental non-governmental organizations, business, and labour
  • the public

Comments on the draft strategy will be accepted until July 9, 2022. The Government of Canada will review all input and take it into account when developing the final version of the strategy. The final strategy will also reflect new and evolving Government of Canada priorities. After the consultation period, we will publish a report summarizing public comments alongside the final strategy.

All 99 participating federal organizations will work collaboratively to incorporate public feedback and develop the final strategy. As required by the strengthened Federal Sustainable Development Act, they will also consider public consultation comments as they shape their own departmental sustainable development strategies.

How to participate

Your comments will help strengthen the strategy and contribute to a more sustainable Canada. We encourage you to share your thoughts on the draft strategy as well as your sustainable development priorities.

  • Given the climate crisis facing Canada and the world today, does the structure of the draft 2022 to 2026 strategy—highlighting the environmental aspects of the 17 SDGs, including its more social and economic goals—resonate with you? How would you change it?
  • Do the goals, targets and actions highlighted in the draft strategy cover the key sustainable development issues that the federal government should be focusing on?
  • Which sustainable development issue(s) do you think are missing or need more emphasis?
  • Sustainable development encompasses environmental, social, and economic issues. Are these linkages captured well (for example in the chapters on SDG 1, No Poverty, SDG 4, Quality Education, and SDG 10, Reduced Inequalities)?
  • What do you think is the Government of Canada’s primary role in driving sustainable development forward?
  • Do we have the right targets and indicators to advance and measure performance?
  • What is the future of sustainable development?
  • How do you see this concept changing?

Share your views by:

  • submitting comments through the online version of the draft strategy using the comment boxes
  • providing your feedback and answering questions through the interactive consultation website
  • replying to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn posts or tweeting with the hashtag #FSDS
  • sending your written comments or videos by email to SDO-BDD@ec.gc.ca
  • writing to us at the Sustainable Development Office, 200 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard 7th floor, Gatineau, Québec, K1A 0H3
  • sharing your expertise in webinars

Submit a photo

We also invite you to participate in a photo contest. Environment and Climate Change Canada invites Canadians from across the country to send us your best original snaps. We’re looking for photos that capture the environmental aspects of sustainable development (for example, a community garden, an electric vehicle, the natural environment) to feature in the final 2022 to 2026 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. Top prize is the cover page and a short write-up in the strategy. Other photos selected will be featured throughout the different chapters.

The contest opens March 15, 2022, at 9:00 a.m. Eastern time. Entry deadline is May 15, 2022, at 9:00 a.m. Eastern time. For full contest details and to submit a photo, visit placespeak.com/FSDS.

Continuing the conversation

In the 2019 to 2022 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, the Government of Canada committed to continue talking with Canadians about ideas and actions to advance sustainability. While adapting to the unique pandemic situation, we continued to seek feedback from Canadians over the past 3 years by email, through webinars, and through social media. This feedback has helped shape our understanding of Canadians’ sustainability priorities and has influenced this draft strategy.

The conversation with Canadians will continue after the 2022 to 2026 strategy is tabled in Parliament. Ongoing input will continue to inform the Government of Canada’s sustainable development approach and future strategies.

We also encourage you to participate in other Government of Canada consultations. While consultations on the draft Federal Sustainable Development Strategy will help shape the government’s overall sustainable development approach for the next 4 years, you can also participate in consultations on specific policies and programs that contribute to the strategy’s goals. Find other Government of Canada consultations at Consulting with Canadians.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Entendre les Canadiens

Sur cette page

La consultation publique et la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable

Cette version provisoire de la stratégie n’est que la première étape vers l’établissement du plan de durabilité environnementale du gouvernement du Canada pour les 4 prochaines années. Nous avons besoin de vos suggestions, réflexions et priorités pour élaborer la version définitive.

Chaque nouvelle stratégie fédérale de développement durable est publiée pour une période de consultation publique d’au moins 120 jours avant d’être déposée au Parlement. La consultation publique est un élément important de l’élaboration de la stratégie, car elle permet de s’assurer que ses cibles, ses jalons et ses mesures reflètent les priorités des Canadiens.

En vertu de la Loi, pendant la période de consultation publique, la version provisoire de la stratégie doit être fournie pour examen et commentaires par :

  • le Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes;
  • le Comité sénatorial permanent de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles;
  • le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable;
  • le Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable, qui comprend des membres de chaque province et territoire, des peuples autochtones, des organisations environnementales non gouvernementales, des entreprises et des travailleurs;
  • le public.

Les commentaires sur la version provisoire de la stratégie seront acceptés jusqu’au 9 juillet 2022. Le gouvernement du Canada examinera toutes les contributions et en tiendra compte dans le cadre de l’élaboration de la version définitive de la stratégie. La version définitive de la stratégie tiendra également compte des priorités nouvelles et changeantes du gouvernement du Canada. Après la période de consultation, nous publierons un rapport résumant les commentaires du public en même temps que la version définitive de la stratégie.

Les 99 organisations fédérales participantes travailleront en collaboration pour intégrer les commentaires du public et élaborer la stratégie finale. Conformément à la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable renforcée, elles tiendront également compte des commentaires de la consultation publique lorsqu’elles élaboreront leur propre stratégie ministérielle de développement durable.

Comment participer

Vos commentaires aideront à renforcer la stratégie et à contribuer à un Canada plus durable. Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos réflexions sur la version provisoire de la stratégie ainsi que de vos priorités en matière de développement durable.

  • Compte tenu de la crise climatique à laquelle le Canada et le monde entier sont confrontés aujourd’hui, la structure de la version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 – qui met l’accent sur les aspects environnementaux des 17 ODD, y compris ses objectifs plus sociaux et économiques – vous interpelle-t-elle? Quels changements apporteriez-vous?
  • Les objectifs, les cibles et les mesures mis en évidence dans la version provisoire de la stratégie couvrent-ils les principales questions de développement durable sur lesquelles le gouvernement fédéral devrait se concentrer?
  • Selon vous, quels aspects du développement durable manquent ou doivent être davantage mis en évidence?
  • Le développement durable englobe les questions environnementales, sociales et économiques. Ces liens sont-ils bien saisis (par exemple, dans les chapitres consacrés à l’ODD 1, Pas de pauvreté, à l’ODD 4, Éducation de qualité, et à l’ODD 10, Inégalités réduites)?
  • Selon vous, quel est le rôle principal du gouvernement du Canada pour faire avancer le développement durable?
  • Avons-nous les bonnes cibles et les bons indicateurs pour faire progresser et mesurer le rendement?
  • Quel est l’avenir du développement durable? Comment voyez-vous l’évolution de ce concept?

Faites-nous part de votre point de vue en :

Soumettez une photo

Nous vous invitons également à participer à un concours de photos. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada invite les Canadiens de partout au pays à envoyer leurs meilleures photos originales. Nous sommes à la recherche de photos qui illustrent les aspects environnementaux du développement durable (par exemple, un jardin communautaire, un véhicule électrique, l’environnement naturel) pour figurer dans la version définitive de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2022 à 2026. Le premier prix est la page de couverture et un court article dans la stratégie. D’autres photos sélectionnées seront présentées dans les différents chapitres.

Le concours commence le 15 mars 2022 à 9 h 00 HNE. La date limite pour participer est le 15 mai 2022 à 9 h 00 HNE. Pour connaître tous les détails du concours et soumettre une photo, rendez-vous sur placespeak.com/SFDD.

Poursuivre la discussion

Dans la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2019 à 2022, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à continuer de discuter avec les Canadiens des idées et des mesures à prendre pour faire progresser la durabilité. Tout en nous adaptant à la situation unique de la pandémie, nous avons continué à solliciter les commentaires des Canadiens au cours des 3 dernières années par courriel, au moyen de webinaires et dans les médias sociaux. Ces commentaires nous ont permis de mieux comprendre les priorités des Canadiens en matière de durabilité et ont influencé cette version provisoire de la stratégie.

La discussion avec les Canadiens se poursuivra après le dépôt de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 au Parlement. Les contributions continuent d’alimenter l’approche de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada et ses stratégies futures.

Nous vous encourageons également à participer à d’autres consultations du gouvernement du Canada. Les consultations sur la version provisoire de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable aideront à façonner l'approche globale du gouvernement en matière de développement durable pour les 4 prochaines années, mais vous pouvez également participer à des consultations sur des politiques et des programmes spécifiques qui contribuent aux objectifs de la stratégie. Vous trouverez d’autres consultations du gouvernement du Canada sur le site Consultations auprès des Canadiens.