Language Selection

Search

Working together: Supporting decision making for sustainable development

Supporting decision making for sustainable development

Decision makers need to know about the environmental effects of proposed policies, plans and programs to make informed, sustainable decisions. As a result, all federal departments and agencies are expected to assess potential environmental effects when developing proposals, to provide the results of their assessments to ministers and Cabinet, and to communicate the results to Canadians.

We’re committed to continuing to strengthen these assessments (known as strategic environmental assessments or SEAs) across government. This supports our promise to Canadians to make decisions based on evidence and to set a higher bar for openness and transparency in government.

Since our 2016–2019 strategy was tabled, we’ve updated guidance for departments to ensure that SEA requirements are applied to documents going to Cabinet and Treasury Board. This includes considering whether proposals could affect the goals and targets set out in the FSDS. Individual federal departments are also strengthening their SEA tools and practices. Departments and agencies will continue to include commitments and results related to SEA implementation in their sustainable development strategies and reports.

For more information:

Related links

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Travailler ensemble : Soutenir la prise de décisions en faveur du développement durable

Soutenir la prise de décisions en faveur du développement durable

Les décideurs doivent connaître les effets environnementaux des politiques, des plans et des programmes proposés afin de prendre des décisions éclairées et durables. Par conséquent, tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux doivent évaluer les effets environnementaux potentiels lorsqu’ils élaborent des propositions, transmettre les résultats de leurs évaluations aux ministres et au Cabinet, et communiquer les résultats aux Canadiens.

Nous sommes déterminés à continuer de renforcer ces évaluations (connues sous le nom d’évaluations environnementales stratégiques ou EES) dans l’ensemble du gouvernement. Cet objectif vient appuyer notre promesse faite aux Canadiens de prendre des décisions fondées sur des preuves et d’établir des critères plus élevés en matière d’ouverture et de transparence au sein du gouvernement.

Depuis le dépôt de notre stratégie 2016-2019, nous avons mis à jour les lignes directrices à l’intention des ministères pour veiller à ce que les exigences en matière d’EES soient appliquées aux documents transmis au Cabinet et au Conseil du Trésor. Cela inclut de déterminer si les propositions pourraient avoir une incidence sur les cibles et les objectifs énoncés dans la SFDD. Les ministères fédéraux individuels renforcent également leurs outils et leurs pratiques en matière d’EES. Les ministères et organismes continueront d’inclure les engagements et les résultats liés à la mise en œuvre des EES dans leurs stratégies et rapports de développement durable.

Pour en savoir plus :

Liens connexes