Language Selection

Search

Sustainable development vision and principles

On this page

The FSDS vision

The draft 2022 to 2026 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy supports the government’s vision that Canada’s economic, social, and environmental health is secure and our quality of life continues to improve.

Achieving this vision requires addressing environmental challenges while recognizing the importance of investing in activities that strengthen our environment and economy for future generations.

Principles for the 2022 to 2026 FSDS

The Federal Sustainable Development Act sets out 7 principles that must be considered in the development of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy as well as departmental sustainable development strategies. Each of these principles is reflected in the draft 2022 to 2026 strategy.

1. Sustainable development is based on an efficient use of natural, social and economic resources and the need for the Government of Canada to integrate environmental, economic and social factors in the making of all of its decisions

The draft 2022 to 2026 strategy provides evidence that the environment is at the forefront of government decision making, while taking into account issues that are more socially or economically focused. The strategy continues to be systemically considered in decision making through the conduct of strategic environmental assessments as required by the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The strategy includes targets and actions on important environmental issues facing Canadians, including climate change, air quality and biodiversity loss. By looking at each of the 17 SDGs through an environmental lens, the draft strategy considers certain key links between the environment and broader sustainable development issues such as poverty, hunger, human health, economic growth, infrastructure, consumption and production, and education.

The Government of Canada is strengthening its capacity to consider climate mitigation and adaptation in a rigorous, consistent, and measurable manner. Budget 2021 announced $36.2 million over 5 years, starting in 2021 to 2022, to develop and apply an Integrated Climate Lens that ensures climate, economic and inclusivity considerations are integrated throughout federal government decision making. This includes resources to increase economic and emissions modelling capacity.

Impact assessment contributes to informed decision making on designated projects in support of sustainable development. The Impact Assessment Agency of Canada leads all federal reviews of major resources projects. The purposes of impact assessment include fostering sustainability, ensuring respect for the rights of Indigenous peoples, protecting components of the environment, and social, health, and economic factors, and establishing a fair, predictable, and efficient impact assessment process that enhances Canada’s competitiveness and promotes innovation. Impact assessments also provide opportunities for meaningful public engagement. Additionally, strategic and regional assessments help the government understand impacts from a broader perspective compared to project-level impact assessments.

Finally, the Government of Canada is committed to intersectional policy development that considers how diverse groups of women, men, and gender-diverse people may experience policies, programs, and initiatives, while seeking to advance equitable outcomes and addressing systemic inequalities. For example, federal departments and agencies are currently required to integrate Gender Based Analysis Plus (GBA Plus) into all Memoranda to Cabinet, Treasury Board submissions, legislation, regulations, and budget proposals. The 2018 Canadian Gender Budgeting Act further enshrined gender budgeting in federal budgetary and financial processes.

2. Sustainable development as a continually evolving concept

The 3-year Federal Sustainable Development Strategy cycle enables the strategy to reflect new and emerging issues in sustainable development and supports continuous improvement. The draft 2022 to 2026 strategy reflects lessons learned through 4 previous cycles, including through the introduction of a new frame based on the 17 SDGs, with a focus on their environmental aspects, stronger targets that are measurable and include a time frame, as well as new targets in areas such as disaster risk reduction (complementing commitments to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions and release Canada’s first national strategy on climate change adaptation), information about sustainable development, and employment of women in the clean technology sector.

The draft strategy reflects new and emerging sustainable development issues such as environmental equity and environmental justice—the equitable treatment and meaningful inclusion of all people in laws, regulations, and programs to protect them from environmental hazards, regardless of their income or identity, and which facilitates their access to environmental benefits and opportunities in the clean economy (see chapter 10).

The draft provides strengthened transparency and accountability: for the first time, it includes a table (Annex 3) clearly indicating which federal organizations are responsible for individual targets, milestones and implementation strategy actions.

Actions set out in the draft strategy reflect the diverse ways in which sustainable development can be advanced. For example, The Government of Canada's actions to protect the environment and health are guided by a precautionary approach, which states that "where there are threats of serious or irreversible damage, lack of full scientific certainty shall not be used as a reason for postponing cost-effective measures to prevent environmental degradation.” The Government of Canada’s approach to sustainable fisheries (under SDG 14, Life Below Water) also reflects the precautionary principle, while work to ensure carbon pollution pricing systems are in place in Canada (under SDG 13, Climate Action) reflects the “polluter pays” principle.

3. Intergenerational equity

The goals, targets and implementation strategies of the 2022 to 2026 draft strategy reflect a commitment to intergenerational equity, or the principle that it is important to meet the needs of the current generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

Considering intergenerational equity also means accepting the reality that environmental challenges, as well as action to address them, do not affect all Canadians in the same way. For example, a decision that benefits seniors may, for example, have little direct impact on children, and vice-versa. In addition to age or generation, people experience climate change and other environmental challenges differently based on many characteristics inherent to who they are. These include (and are not limited to) gender, race, religion, sexuality, ability, class and citizenship status. Youth in Canada should be at the center of work to ensure a stable climate, clean air and water, and healthy ecosystems.

The focus of the draft strategy is on addressing environmental challenges facing Canada so that future generations are able to thrive. This includes driving down emissions; taking the actions needed to minimize current and future harm from climate change, including minimizing economic and social risks for future generations; ensuring that Canadians have clean air to breathe and clean water to drink; and conserving Canada’s unique ecosystems and the services they provide, including those key to food security such as pollination and access to traditional foods. At the same time, it emphasizes the importance of ensuring a healthy economy and a healthy environment for Canadians today—for example, by supporting businesses and workers so that they can succeed in the clean growth economy.

Recent amendments to the Act further promote intergenerational equity. The Minister of Environment and Climate Change takes into account demographic considerations such as age, gender and diversity when appointing members of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council. This helps ensure that the council reflects the diversity of Canadian society and that the voices of Canadians of all ages can shape this and future strategies.

4. Openness and transparency

The draft 2022 to 2026 strategy supports openness and transparency by bringing federal environmental sustainability targets across all 17 SDGs together in one place. It presents a whole-of-government picture of how 99 federal organizations contribute to advancing the environmental perspectives of the SDGs. Once the final strategy is tabled, departmental sustainable development strategies will set out how individual federal organizations are taking concrete action within their own mandates.

The Act requires regular departmental reporting as well as a whole-of-government Federal Sustainable Development Strategy progress report in each 3-year period. The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) program builds on this requirement to support transparency. CESI indicators that support the strategy’s reporting are updated on an ongoing basis, enabling Canadians to track progress on goals and targets.

Wherever possible, indicators for measuring progress on the draft 2022 to 2026 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy—including a number of CESI indicators—align with the Canadian Indicator Framework for the 2030 Agenda. This helps to support a consistent and coherent sustainable development reporting approach across the Government of Canada.

5. Involving Indigenous peoples

Canada adopted the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act in June 2021 to advance the implementation of the Declaration as a key step in renewing the Government of Canada’s relationship with Indigenous peoples. The UN Declaration Act will provide a legislative framework to advance the Government of Canada’s implementation of the Declaration at the federal level, in partnership with Indigenous peoples.

The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of involving Indigenous peoples in developing the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy given their Traditional Knowledge and their unique understanding of, and connection to, Canada’s lands and waters. Indigenous youth will inherit the results of Canada’s sustainable development efforts, and play an important role in social and economic outcomes where no new generation of Indigenous youth is "left behind". Indigenous peoples are encouraged to comment on the draft and help to shape the final strategy that is tabled in Parliament.

The Sustainable Development Advisory Council plays a key role in shaping the strategy and advising the Minister of Environment and Climate Change on sustainable development. Since 2020, 6 seats on the Council (up from 3) are reserved for members representing Indigenous peoples.

The draft strategy reflects a broad range of Government of Canada initiatives, many of which involve collaboration with Indigenous peoples. For example, Indigenous peoples work closely with the federal government to conserve and protect lands and waters and help species at risk recover. Indigenous peoples are also taking action in their own lands and communities to protect the environment and promote climate resilience.

6. Collaboration

The draft 2022 to 2026 strategy promotes collaboration by presenting common goals and targets that apply to departments and agencies across government. Compared with past strategies, the current draft enhances collaboration by including contributions from many more federal organizations—99 compared to 44 in the 2019 to 2022 strategy (28 that were required to participate and 16 that participated voluntarily).

While the draft strategy focuses on federal targets and actions, partners such as provincial and territorial governments, Indigenous peoples, municipalities, businesses, and non-governmental organizations collaborate with the federal government on many initiatives that support its goals and targets. For example, the Government of Canada is working with other governments, the private sector and Indigenous peoples to advance the development and deployment of clean and renewable energy.

7. Results and delivery approach

As required by the strengthened Federal Sustainable Development Act, all targets in the draft 2022 to 2026 strategy are measurable and include a time frame. For each target, the strategy identifies an indicator that will be used to measure progress. Baseline data provided for each indicator make the starting point clear and provide a basis for future reporting.

Within one year after the final Federal Sustainable Development Strategy is tabled in Parliament, each federal organization that contributes to it will be required to prepare its own departmental sustainable development strategy that supports the goals of the broader federal strategy. Each federal organizations must also report on progress in implementing its departmental sustainable development strategy and report on its implementation each year for at least 2 years after it is tabled. This way, federal organizations will have the opportunity to make course corrections as required throughout the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy cycle. Through this reporting, parliamentarians and Canadians will also be able closely track what is being achieved by individual federal organizations over the next 4 years.

A whole-of-government Federal Sustainable Development Strategy progress report will complement individual departmental reports. While federal organizations will report on the implementation of their specific commitments through departmental reporting, the whole-of-government progress report will assess how the government is progressing overall on the strategy’s targets and short-term milestones. It will include a rating system to assess progress using the most recent target-level indicator results. By examining the results achieved during the strategy’s cycle, the rating system will provide an assessment of “achieved”, “underway”, “attention required”, or “no new data available” for each target. Federal organizations will collect data and track progress on the targets and milestones for which they are responsible and will contribute to the development of the whole-of-government progress report.

Updates to the online version of the strategy between 2022 and 2026 will support a results and delivery approach. Throughout the cycle, information will be added to the online version of the strategy on results achieved and on the contributions of individual federal organizations.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Vision et principes du développement durable

Sur cette page

La vision de la SFDD

La version provisoire de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2022 à 2026 appuie la vision du gouvernement selon laquelle la santé économique, sociale et environnementale du Canada est assurée et notre qualité de vie continue de s’améliorer.

Pour concrétiser cette vision, il faut relever les défis environnementaux tout en reconnaissant l’importance d’investir dans des activités qui renforcent notre environnement et notre économie pour les générations futures.

Principes pour la SFDD 2022 à 2026

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable énonce 7 principes qui doivent être pris en compte dans l’élaboration de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable ainsi que des stratégies ministérielles de développement durable. Chacun de ces principes est pris en compte dans la version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026.

1. Le développement durable est fondé sur l’utilisation rationnelle des ressources naturelles, sociales et économiques et la nécessité, pour le gouvernement du Canada, de prendre toute décision en tenant compte des facteurs environnementaux, économiques et sociaux

La version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 prouve que le gouvernement met l’environnement au premier plan du processus décisionnel, tout en tenant compte des questions qui sont davantage axées sur le plan social ou économique. La stratégie continue d’être systématiquement examiné dans la prise de décisions par la réalisation d’évaluations environnementales stratégiques en vertu de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. La stratégie comprend des cibles et des mesures concernant d’importants problèmes environnementaux auxquels sont confrontés les Canadiens, notamment les changements climatiques, la qualité de l’air et la perte de biodiversité. En examinant chacun des 17 ODD sous l’optique de l’environnement, la version provisoire de la stratégie tient compte de certains liens essentiels entre l’environnement et des questions plus générales liées au développement durable, telles que la pauvreté, la faim, la santé humaine, la croissance économique, les infrastructures, la consommation et la production, et l’éducation.

Le gouvernement du Canada renforce sa capacité de prendre en compte l’atténuation et l’adaptation au climat de manière rigoureuse, cohérente et mesurable. Le budget de 2021 a annoncé 36,2 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à partir de 2021 à 2022, pour mettre au point et appliquer une Optique des changements climatiques intégrée permettant de veiller à ce que des considérations climatiques, économiques et d’inclusivité soient intégrées au processus décisionnel du gouvernement fédéral. Cela comprend des ressources pour accroître la capacité de modélisation économique et de modélisation des émissions.

Les évaluations d’impacts contribuent à une prise de décisions éclairée sur des projets désignés à l’appui du développement durable. L’Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada mène toutes les évaluations fédérales sur les projets de ressources d’envergure. Les buts de l’évaluation d’impact comprennent la promotion de la durabilité, le respect des droits des peuples autochtones, la protection des composantes de l’environnement et des facteurs sociaux, sanitaires et économiques, et l’établissement d’un processus d’évaluation d’impact équitable, prévisible et efficace qui améliore la compétitivité du Canada et favorise l’innovation. Les évaluations d’impact offrent également des possibilités de participation significative du public. En outre, les évaluations stratégiques et régionales aident le gouvernement à comprendre les impacts d’un point de vue plus large que les évaluations d’impact au niveau des projets.

Enfin, le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à élaborer des politiques intersectionnelles qui tiennent compte de la façon dont divers groupes de femmes, d’hommes et de personnes de diverses identités de genre peuvent faire l’expérience des politiques, des programmes et des initiatives, tout en cherchant à favoriser des résultats équitables et en s’attaquant aux inégalités systémiques. Par exemple, les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont actuellement tenus d’intégrer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) dans tous les mémoires au Cabinet, les présentations au Conseil du Trésor, les lois, les règlements et les propositions budgétaires. La Loi canadienne sur la budgétisation sensible aux sexes de 2018 a enchâssé davantage la budgétisation sensible aux sexes dans les processus budgétaires et financiers fédéraux.

2. Le développement durable est un concept en évolution constante

Le cycle triennal de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable permet à la stratégie de prendre en compte les questions nouvelles et émergentes en matière de développement durable et favorise l’amélioration continue. La version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 reflète les leçons tirées de 4 stratégies antérieures, notamment par l’introduction d’un nouveau cadre fondé sur les 17 ODD, en mettant l’accent sur leurs aspects environnementaux, des cibles plus solides, mesurables et assorties d’un échéancier, ainsi que de nouvelles cibles dans des domaines tels que la réduction des risques de catastrophes (en complément des engagements à atteindre la carboneutralité et à publier la première stratégie nationale d’adaptation aux changements climatiques du Canada), l’information sur le développement durable et l’emploi des femmes dans le secteur des technologies propres.

La version provisoire de la stratégie reflète les questions nouvelles et émergentes en matière de développement durable, telles que l’équité environnementale et la justice environnementale – le traitement équitable et l’inclusion significative de toutes les personnes dans les lois, les réglementations et les programmes visant à les protéger des risques environnementaux, indépendamment de leur revenu ou de leur identité, et qui facilite leur accès aux avantages environnementaux et aux opportunités dans l’économie propre (voir chapitre 10).

La version provisoire de la stratégie prévoit également une transparence et une responsabilité renforcées : pour la première fois, elle comprend un tableau (annexe 3) indiquant clairement quelles organisations fédérales sont responsables des différents cibles, jalons et mesures de la stratégie de mise en œuvre.

Les mesures définies dans la version provisoire de la stratégie reflètent les diverses manières de faire progresser le développement durable. Par exemple, les mesures du gouvernement du Canada visant à protéger l’environnement et la santé sont guidées par une approche de la prudence, selon lequel « en cas de risques de dommages graves ou irréversibles, l’absence de certitude scientifique absolue ne doit pas servir de prétexte pour remettre à plus tard l’adoption de mesures effectives visant à prévenir la dégradation de l’environnement ». L’approche du gouvernement du Canada en matière de pêche durable (dans le cadre de l’ODD 14, Vie aquatique) reflète également le principe de la prudence, tandis que les travaux visant à garantir la mise en place de systèmes de tarification de la pollution par le carbone au Canada (dans le cadre de l’ODD 13, Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques) reflètent le principe du « pollueur-payeur ».

3. Équité intergénérationnelle

Les objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre de la version provisoire de la stratégie 2022-2026 reflètent un engagement en faveur de l’équité intergénérationnelle, ou le principe selon lequel il est important de répondre aux besoins de la génération actuelle sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures à satisfaire les leurs.

Considérer l’équité intergénérationnelle signifie également accepter la réalité que les défis environnementaux, ainsi que les mesures pour les relever, ne touchent pas tous les Canadiens de la même manière. Par exemple, une décision qui profite aux personnes âgées peut, par exemple, avoir peu d’impact direct sur les enfants, et vice-versa. Outre l’âge ou la génération, les gens vivent différemment les changements climatiques et les autres défis environnementaux en fonction de nombreuses caractéristiques inhérentes à leur identité. Il s’agit notamment (et non exclusivement) du sexe, de la race, de la religion, de la sexualité, des capacités, de la classe sociale et du statut de citoyen. Les jeunes Canadiens devraient être au centre des efforts visant à garantir un climat stable, de l’air et de l’eau propres et des écosystèmes sains.

La version provisoire de la stratégie vise à relever les défis environnementaux auxquels le Canada est confronté afin que les générations futures puissent prospérer. Il s’agit notamment de réduire les émissions, de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour minimiser les dommages actuels et futurs causés par les changements climatiques, y compris la réduction des risques économiques et sociaux pour les générations futures, de veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient de l’air pur à respirer et de l’eau propre à boire, et de conserver les écosystèmes uniques du Canada et les services qu’ils fournissent, y compris ceux qui sont essentiels à la sécurité alimentaire, comme la pollinisation et l’accès aux aliments traditionnels. En même temps, elle souligne l’importance d’assurer une économie et un environnement sains pour les Canadiens d’aujourd’hui – par exemple, en soutenant les entreprises et les travailleurs afin qu’ils puissent réussir dans l’économie de croissance propre.

Les récentes modifications apportées à la Loi favorisent davantage l’équité intergénérationnelle. Le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique tient compte de considérations démographiques telles que l’âge, le sexe et la diversité lors de la nomination des membres du Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable. Cela permet de s’assurer que le conseil représente la diversité de la société canadienne et que les voix des Canadiens de tous âges peuvent façonner cette stratégie et les futures stratégies.

4. Ouverture et transparence

La version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 favorise l’ouverture et la transparence en rassemblant en un seul endroit les cibles fédérales en matière de durabilité environnementale pour l’ensemble des 17 ODD. Elle présente une image pangouvernementale de la manière dont 99 organisations fédérales contribuent à faire progresser les perspectives environnementales des ODD. Une fois la version définitive de la stratégie déposée, les stratégies ministérielles de développement durable exposeront la manière dont chaque organisation fédérale prend des mesures concrètes dans le cadre de son propre mandat.

La Loi exige des rapports ministériels réguliers ainsi qu’un rapport d’étape sur la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour l’ensemble du gouvernement pour chaque période de 3 ans. Le programme des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE) s’appuie sur cette exigence pour favoriser la transparence. Les ICDE qui soutiennent les rapports de la stratégie sont mis à jour de façon continue, ce qui permet aux Canadiens de suivre les progrès réalisés par rapport aux objectifs et aux cibles.

Dans la mesure du possible, les indicateurs servant à mesurer les progrès réalisés dans le cadre de la version provisoire de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2022 à 2026 – y compris un certain nombre des ICDE – s’alignent sur le Cadre d’indicateurs canadien pour le Programme 2030. Cela permet de soutenir une approche de production de rapports sur le développement durable uniforme et cohérente dans l'ensemble du gouvernement du Canada.

5. Mobilisation des peuples autochtones

En juin 2021, le Canada a adopté la Loi sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones afin de faire progresser la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration comme étape clé du renouvellement de la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones. Cette loi fournira au gouvernement du Canada et aux peuples autochtones un cadre législatif pour travailler en partenariat à la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l’importance de faire participer les peuples autochtones à l’élaboration de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, compte tenu de leur savoir traditionnel, de leur compréhension unique des terres et des eaux du Canada et de leurs liens avec celles-ci. Les jeunes autochtones hériteront des résultats des efforts du Canada en matière de développement durable et joueront un rôle important dans les résultats sociaux et économiques où aucune nouvelle génération de jeunes autochtones n’est « laissée pour compte ». Les peuples autochtones sont invités à commenter la version provisoire et ainsi façonner la version définitive de la stratégie qui sera déposée au Parlement.

Le Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable joue un rôle clé dans l’élaboration de la stratégie et dans la prestation de conseils au ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique en matière de développement durable. Depuis 2020, 6 sièges du Conseil (contre 3 auparavant) sont réservés aux membres représentant les peuples autochtones.

La version provisoire de la stratégie reflète un large éventail d’initiatives du gouvernement du Canada, dont beaucoup impliquent une collaboration avec les peuples autochtones. Par exemple, les peuples autochtones travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral pour conserver et protéger les terres et les eaux et aider les espèces en danger à se rétablir. Les peuples autochtones prennent également des mesures sur leurs propres terres et dans leurs collectivités pour protéger l’environnement et promouvoir la résilience face au climat.

6. Collaboration

La version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 favorise la collaboration en présentant des objectifs et des cibles communs qui s’appliquent aux ministères et aux organismes de l’ensemble du gouvernement. Par rapport aux stratégies antérieures, la version provisoire actuelle renforce la collaboration en incluant les contributions de beaucoup plus d’organisations fédérales – 99 contre 44 dans la stratégie de 2019 à 2022 (28 qui étaient tenues de participer et 16 qui ont participé volontairement).

Bien que la version provisoire de la stratégie soit axée sur les cibles et les mesures fédérales, des partenaires tels que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les peuples autochtones, les municipalités, les entreprises et les organisations non gouvernementales collaborent avec le gouvernement fédéral à de nombreuses initiatives qui appuient ses objectifs et ses cibles. Par exemple, le gouvernement du Canada travaille avec d’autres gouvernements, le secteur privé et les peuples autochtones pour faire progresser le développement et le déploiement d’énergies propres et renouvelables.

7. Approche axée sur les résultats et l’exécution

Comme l’exige la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable renforcée, toutes les cibles de la version provisoire de la stratégie de 2022 à 2026 sont mesurables et assorties d’un échéancier. Pour chaque cible, la stratégie définit un indicateur qui sera utilisé pour mesurer les progrès. Les données de référence fournies pour chaque indicateur précisent le point de départ et constituent une base pour les rapports futurs.

Dans l’année qui suit le dépôt au Parlement de la version définitive de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, chaque organisation fédérale qui y contribue sera tenue de préparer sa propre stratégie ministérielle de développement durable qui soutient les objectifs de la stratégie fédérale élargie. Chaque organisation fédérale devra également rendre compte des progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre de sa stratégie ministérielle de développement durable, et ce, chaque année pendant au moins deux ans après son dépôt. De cette façon, les organisations fédérales auront la possibilité d’apporter des corrections de trajectoire, au besoin, tout au long du cycle de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Grâce à ces rapports, les parlementaires et les Canadiens pourront également suivre de près les réalisations de chaque organisation fédérale au cours des 4 prochaines années.

Un rapport d’étape pangouvernemental sur la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable viendra compléter les rapports individuels des ministères. Alors que les organisations fédérales rendront compte de la mise en œuvre de leurs engagements spécifiques dans des rapports ministériels, le rapport d’étape pangouvernemental évaluera la façon dont le gouvernement progresse globalement par rapport aux cibles et aux jalons à court terme de la stratégie. Il comprendra un système de notation permettant d’évaluer les progrès réalisés en comparant les résultats les plus récents des indicateurs au niveau des cibles. En examinant les résultats obtenus au cours du cycle de la stratégie, le système de notation fournira une évaluation « réalisé », « en bonne voie », « attention requise » ou « aucune nouvelle donnée disponible » pour chaque cible. Les organisations fédérales recueilleront des données et suivront les progrès réalisés par rapport aux cibles et aux jalons dont elles sont responsables, et contribueront à l’élaboration du rapport d’étape pangouvernemental.

Les mises à jour de la version en ligne de la stratégie entre 2022 à 2026 soutiendront également une approche axée sur les résultats et l’exécution. Tout au long du cycle, des renseignements seront ajoutés à la version en ligne de la stratégie sur les résultats obtenus et sur les contributions des différentes organisations fédérales.