Language Selection

Search

Background: What is the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy

What is the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy

The Federal Sustainable Development Act provides the legal framework for the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, or FSDS. It requires the Minister of Environment and Climate Change to table a new strategy every 3 years. Regular updating of the strategy allows it to reflect new priorities.

The FSDS sets out the Government of Canada’s environmental sustainability priorities, establishes goals and targets, and identifies actions to achieve them. It outlines what we’ll do across government to promote clean growth, ensure healthy ecosystems and build safe, secure and sustainable communities over a 3-year period.

In October 2016 we tabled the 2016–2019 FSDS. That strategy:

  • set out goals aligned with the environmentally-focused Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (2030 Agenda)
  • established strong targets and indicators
  • took an inclusive approach recognizing the important roles of other governments, Indigenous peoples, stakeholders and all Canadians

This strategy updates the 2016–2019 FSDS and shows how we’ll continue to advance our sustainable development goals and support the environmentally-focused SDGs over the next 3 years.

It sets out 13 aspirational goals that reflect the Canada we want, supported by medium-term targets, short-term milestones, and clear action plans. It also includes cross-cutting priorities that will support progress in all areas of the strategy including:

  • supporting international agreements and initiatives, including the 2030 Agenda
  • supporting informed and sustainable decision making across government
  • implementing strong environmental legislation and ensuring robust and thorough environmental assessments
  • working in partnership with Indigenous peoples and communities
  • maintaining an ongoing conversation with partners, stakeholders and Canadians on sustainable development

Departments and agencies across government contribute to implementing our strategy and achieving results. The Act requires 26 federal organizations to prepare their own strategies that comply with and contribute to the FSDS. An additional 16 organizations contribute on a voluntary basis.

Our strategy supports Canada’s international sustainability commitments, including the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Additionally, it reflects key government initiatives including our support for the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change and other actions to transition Canada to a low-carbon economy.

In defining federal environmental sustainability commitments and actions, the 2019–2022 FSDS will complement a National Strategy on the 2030 Agenda led by Employment and Social Development Canada. While the FSDS and the National Strategy are different, they reinforce each other. The FSDS will continue to support Canada’s overall response to the 2030 Agenda.

This strategy was prepared under the existing Federal Sustainable Development Act. However, amendments to the Act received Royal Assent in February 2019 and will come into force on a future date to be determined by the Governor in Council. Once the amendments are in force, future strategies will be guided by an Act that supports greater accountability, a truly whole-of-government approach, and more effective engagement with Canadians.

Related links

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Contexte : Qu’est-ce que la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

Qu’est-ce que la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable fournit un cadre juridique pour la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD). Elle impose à la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique de déposer une nouvelle stratégie tous les 3 ans. Une mise à jour régulière de la stratégie nous permet de tenir compte des nouvelles priorités.

La SFDD établit les priorités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de durabilité de l’environnement, fixe les objectifs et les cibles, et définit les mesures à prendre pour les atteindre. Elle décrit les mesures que prendra le gouvernement pendant 3 ans pour promouvoir une croissance propre, préserver des écosystèmes sains et établir des collectivités sûres, sécuritaires et durables.

En octobre 2016, nous avons déposé la SFDD 2016-2019, qui

  • a défini des objectifs conformes aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD) axés sur l’environnement du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 des Nations Unies (Programme 2030);
  • a établi des cibles et des indicateurs solides;
  • a adopté une approche inclusive reconnaissant les rôles importants des autres gouvernements, des peuples autochtones, des intervenants et tous les Canadiens.

Cette stratégie constitue une mise à jour de la SFDD 2016-2019 et illustre de quelle façon nous continuerons à faire progresser nos objectifs de développement durable et à soutenir les ODD axés sur l’environnement au cours des 3 prochaines années.

Elle établit 13 objectifs ambitieux qui sont l’expression du Canada que nous voulons, et s’appuient sur des cibles à moyen terme, des jalons à court terme et des plans d’action clairement établis. Elle renferme aussi des priorités transversales qui soutiendront les progrès dans tous les domaines de la stratégie, notamment les suivants :

  • soutenir les ententes et les initiatives internationales, y compris le Programme 2030;
  • appuyer un processus décisionnel éclairé et durable dans l’ensemble du gouvernement;
  • mettre en œuvre des lois environnementales rigoureuses et assurer la réalisation d’évaluations environnementales approfondies;
  • travailler en partenariat avec les peuples et les collectivités autochtones;
  • maintenir une communication continue avec les partenaires, les intervenants et la population canadienne au sujet du développement durable.

Les ministères et les organismes de l’ensemble du gouvernement contribuent à la mise en œuvre de notre stratégie et à l’atteinte des résultats. La Loi exige que 26 organisations fédérales préparent leur propre stratégie qui est conforme à la SFDD et y contribuent. Seize autres organisations y participent sur une base volontaire.

Notre stratégie appuie les engagements internationaux du Canada en matière de durabilité, notamment le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030. En outre, elle prend en compte les initiatives clés du gouvernement, y compris notre appui au Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques et d’autres mesures de transition vers une économie à faibles émissions de carbone.

En définissant les mesures et les engagements du gouvernement fédéral en matière de durabilité de l’environnement, la SFDD 2019-2022 apportera un complément à la Stratégie nationale pour le Programme 2030 qui est dirigée par Emploi et Développement social Canada. Même si la SFDD et la Stratégie nationale sont différentes, elles se renforcent mutuellement. La SFDD continuera d’appuyer la réponse globale du Canada au Programme 2030.

La présente stratégie a été préparée en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable actuelle. Toutefois, les modifications apportées à la Loi ont reçu la sanction royale en février 2019 et entreront en vigueur à une date ultérieure qui sera déterminée par le gouverneur en conseil. Lorsque les modifications entreront en vigueur, les stratégies futures seront guidées par une loi qui appuie une responsabilisation accrue, une approche véritablement pangouvernementale et une mobilisation plus efficace des Canadiens.

Liens connexes